North American Van Lines Reviews

Show reviews that mention
north american customer service driver furniture items claim delivery truck belongings movers
Filter review

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Things broken in the move. I am handicapped so I paid them to unpack

Explore video interviews
North American Van Lines - Things broken in the move. I am handicapped so I paid them to unpack
North American Van Lines - Things broken in the move. I am handicapped so I paid them to unpack
North American Van Lines - Things broken in the move. I am handicapped so I paid them to unpack
North American Van Lines - Things broken in the move. I am handicapped so I paid them to unpack
I sent this today. It is my third attempt April 21, 2020 I was told me that you would get back to me regarding the mess that was left when I paid $1,000 to have your men unpack. To date, I have not heard from you. Here are some pictures and other evidence. 1. I paid them to unpack and this is what I got (ENTITLED MESS IN LIVING ROOM 2. The scooter was thrown on top of the things in the cage. I attach a letter from the maintenance man. The first letter was from somebody who knew nothing about maintenance. Note the battery was in the living room and not even with the scooter. It was shoved in my wheel chair. The scooter was upside down on one of my chairs in the cage. Unfortunately, there is not a clear picture of what they did. It is broken in that picture as you can that the scooter is broker. I had to leave it behind because the maintenance man could not make it work. HIs note is attached. 3. Furniture before before North American Van Lines picked up my furniture. It was like new. 4. Bookcase with lights working before I left. That was broken in shipping. 5. Waste Basket is just a small sample of how things arrived in Texas. 6. I have called Temperpedic, changed the batteries and gone through the steps and the frame is broken. Attached please find the receipt for the bed and a letter from my housekeeper who helped me prepare for the move. I also include a letter from Marilyn Bettis who saw the driver struggle with the extra long twin size mattress and threw it into the street. Thus I had to sleep in a recliner the entire time I was there. Margie Lothamer asked if I can see any dirt on the mattress. I find that incredibly insulting. I have to sleep at zero gravity because I'm handicapped. Why on earth would I take a broken bed with me and who would sleep on a mattress that was not wrapped when moved and then thrown into the street. 7. Living room before I left. Both of these recliners were broken in the move. 8. The Massage chair does not work properly. Attached is a letter from somebody who used it before I left. 9. Please note how the fireplace/bookcase was placed in the apartment. I could not walk into the room with support and I could not use my wheel chair in that room or it would make it worse. I am Filing a complaint with the National Consumer Complaint Data base and other ways to file a complaint. Thus, I'm giving you another chance to make this right. I think it is outrageous that even though I've sent you proof you want me to put out additional money for an arbitrator. I have posted the pictures to yelp.
View full review
4 comments
#1891073

There is a good example of why I dump as much as possible every time I move. Lots of things cost more to move than they are worth and quite a bit is not worth hauling along just on logistics alone.

#1889911

It's all in the packaging. Anything can survive anything short of flood, fire, famine, or war if it's packaged properly.

Anything I intended to move or ship would be packed and protected my way. I have decades of experience in both work and private life with shipping delicate objects (and many decidedly robust objects) to 47 states and have suffered packages damaged from mishandling or by water but not the goods within. Whomever prepared your goods for shipment dropped the ball, and by way of management and oversight that someone was yourself. You or your representative on site should not have permitted anything to to pass the door without proper inspection.

Your complaint then lacks substance and specifics. Letters from third parties are not admissible as evidence.

Where were you before, during and after and exactly what cash value of damage was incurred? You will prove this how?

#1890491
@PissedConsumer1889911

You have to tell people what is acceptable and what is not. That is a shame , you would think movers would know how to move but they don't seem to care or understand or something. The OP didn't mention if packaging and setup were supposed to be included in the deal, so from that I'm sorry for her but it does seem she didn't pay attention until it was too late.

#1891306
@PissedConsumer1890491

It looks like she thought it would be all set up nicely and arranged to taste, but moving companies generally dump your stuff and say "here you go pal". At least the stuff that shows up and is still usable.

View more comments (3)
Featured
ID
#1883097 Review #1883097 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Paid no attention to my claim
  • Incompetent
Cons
  • Damaged and stolen furniture
Loss
$20
Preferred solution
Price reduction

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Resolved: Customer Service

Update by user Nov 13, 2021

Lost the battle. The "ESTIMATE" was binding. The representative never informed me that I had a choice between binding and nonbinding..

Original review posted by user Oct 14, 2021
Overcharged; significant error in estimate (25%) vrs actual. No adjustment for "overcharge". No followup from corporate customer service.

User's recommendation: Do not agree to the "estimate". Deduct/holdback at least 25%.

View full review
Resolved
ID
#2969906 Review #2969906 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Fort Myers, Florida
Pros
  • Paid no attention to my claim
  • Great sales job on how smoothly my move would go
Cons
  • Overcharged estimate
Loss
$2500
Preferred solution
Price reduction

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Status of claim

Submitted claim for damages two weeks ago and havent had a response. I have contacted them and calls are not returned.

User's recommendation: Look for another carries.

View full review
ID
#2801660 Review #2801660 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
If I could give a -50 rating I would. I am in my 60's, and this is by far the worst company I have ever worked with. They are disorganized, rude, slow and full of excuses. I moved from across the country, and the day before my stuff was supposed to arrive I had to call...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2275430 Review #2275430 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Palm Harbor, Florida

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
Update by user May 21, 2020

The pictures tell the story. I had a woman who saw the drive take my bed and push it out the door into the street.

The bed broke and I am handicapped and had t sleep in a recliner. Even though I had many letters to prove my claim it was denied.

Original review posted by user Apr 21, 2020
April 21, 2020 I was told...
View full review
View full review
ID
#1883076 Review #1883076 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
San Luis Obispo, California
Service
North American Van Lines Long Distance Moving Service
Pros
  • Good salesmanship
Cons
  • Not trustworthy
  • Treatment after delivery
  • Damage theft of items
Loss
$20
Preferred solution
Price reduction
New Reviewer

Horrible movers boxes thrown boxes many items broken many items stolen

Many boxes thrown crushed Jay truck driver terrible did not protect our items furniture lamps other items broken or stolen items missing from inside boxes terrible movers
View full review
ID
#1708268 Review #1708268 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
North American Van Lines Moving Service
Cons
  • Damage theft of items
Reason of review
Bad quality
Preferred solution
Price reduction
New Reviewer

Extremely greatful!!!!

Billy from the TA in Manning,Sc was extremely helpful in my matter and to clarify I was not pissed I just wanted this to be handled in a timely matter due to my past experience with another TA and Billy in Manning Sc handle the situation very professionally thank you so much
View full review
ID
#1471847 Review #1471847 is a subjective opinion of poster.
New Reviewer
My wife and I moved from California this last September. We had a lot of things to be shipped, the truck that was sent already had another families belongings in the truck. I had called and tried to reschedule the move as we were not ready. The driver called and...
View full review
View full review
ID
#1399714 Review #1399714 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Caldwell, Idaho
Service
North American Van Lines Long Distance Moving Service
Reason of review
Damaged or defective
New Reviewer

If Jay Pratt 718-...-....is your American van lines driver

Horrible experience with North American Van Lines. Paid them $23,000 to move from Boise, Idaho to New Orleans, La. Items were stolen!!!!and horribly damaged. They told us please wait to file claim we are putting tracer on those items....GUESS WHAT????? now they are saying because we didn't file immediately we must have the items and just trying to scam!!!! Driver didn't have his paper work filled out and NOW says we refused to sign.. I have never seen such an unprofessional company!! Law suit being filed in federal court since it was across state lines. SO much time and energy...but I feel these thieves should not get away with this horrific event
View full review
ID
#1320453 Review #1320453 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Great sales job on how smoothly my move would go
Cons
  • Damaged and stolen furniture
Reason of review
Not as described/ advertised
Loss
$60000
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer
Moved from Tampa fl to Ranchos Palos verdes Ca Incredible loss of items that cannot be replaced Most of the antique items which was brought from my ancestral home in India Other items such as office products and kitchen items The agent or consultant assured that it...
View full review
View full review
ID
#1238096 Review #1238096 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
North American Van Lines Long Distance Moving Service
Cons
  • Not trustworthy
Reason of review
Problem with delivery
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered
New Reviewer
I used North American for a move to California in 2015. The agent was great and the move was great. So when I decided to move again I didn't consider anyone else. However, my experience this time was as different as night and day. The movers were late, and they did not...
View full review
View full review
ID
#1229819 Review #1229819 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
North American Van Lines Moving Service
Cons
  • Treatment after delivery
Reason of review
Damaged or defective
Loss
$2000
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Will never ever again use North American van lines

North American Van Lines has become a political operation opposing the NRA. As a proud NRA lifetime member, my family and I will never again. Use North American Airlines. They have the right to be a political operation. I have the right to take my business elsewhere and advise all my friends and relatives to do the same.
View full review
ID
#1198304 Review #1198304 is a subjective opinion of poster.
North American Van Lines - NAVL dba Beltmann, dba Allied. SCAMMERS!
Hired North American September 2017...move from Atlanta to Pittsburgh . They sent Beltmann to pick up, Allied to deliver . ..MANY companies, All under SIRVA banner, which should be red flag right away. Many names to confuse and eschew responsibility . Complete fraud....
View full review
View full review
ID
#1175040 Review #1175040 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
North American Van Lines Moving Service
Reason of review
Bad quality
New Reviewer

Home Moving Company Negligent

Moving company hired by Employer for Out of State move, damaged all furniture made of wood from negligence of protecting furniture during transport & after unloading furniture into storage facility. After filing claim they refused to repair furniture.
View full review
ID
#1138518 Review #1138518 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
North American Van Lines Moving Service
Reason of review
Bad quality
North American Van Lines - Refund on extra charge and service not render.
North American Van Lines - Refund on extra charge and service not render.
North American Van Lines - Refund on extra charge and service not render.
North American Van Lines - Refund on extra charge and service not render.
I booked our move thru NorthAmerican Van line thru your Beltmann Group for July 14, 2017 from Keasbey NJ to Fort Myers Fl.. At the time that the estimate was done, by Mark Eschbacherof the Beltmann Group, since our apartment was located on an uphill driveway, he quoted...
View full review
View full review
ID
#1108505 Review #1108505 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Newark, New Jersey
Service
North American Van Lines Long Distance Moving Service
Cons
  • Beltmann group employees performance
  • No refund on service not provided
Reason of review
No refund for service not rendered
Loss
$269
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer
North American van Lines raped me. The stole personal checks, my stereo speakers and CDs, clothes are missing, my coffee grinder and prayer box, a $250 Hummel figurine. So many of my daily dishes I had to buy new ones. List half of my Oneida daily silverware. I handed...
View full review
View full review
1 comment
#1333752

North American van Lines will not contact me. They led me gently to arbitration and now I cannot go after then legally.

North American van lines is sneaky and a crook.

They have changed my life forever. They stole from me,,,,,,

ID
#1040962 Review #1040962 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Service
North American Van Lines Long Distance Moving Service
Cons
  • Being taken advantage of
Reason of review
Stealing from me
Loss
$4000
Preferred solution
Full refund

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article